Dynamics CRM 2011 · Outlook · Outlook Client · Synchronization

CRM 2011: Deleting Records in Outlook Client: Appointment, Task, Contact

One of the benefits using CRM Addin for Outlook is that appointment and tasks are synchronized to your Outlook calendar. However, the behavior of the synchronization isn’t very straight forward. Deleting records in CRM does not mean it will also be deleted in Outlook, and vice versa.

Appointment
Delete in CRM
Appointment in Outlook will only be deleted if appointment is still open and appointment start time is in the future. Past appointment (completed or cancelled) will not be removed from Outlook.

Delete in Outlook
Appointment in CRM will only be deleted if appointment is still open and it is deleted by appointment owner or organizer. Past appointment (completed or cancelled) will not be removed from CRM; nor when its deleted by someone other than appointment owner or organizer.

Task
Delete in CRM
Task in Outlook will only be deleted if task is still open (not completed). Past task (completed) will not be removed from Outlook.

Delete in Outlook
Task in CRM will only be deleted if task is still open (not completed). Past task (completed) will not be removed from CRM.

Contact
Delete in CRM
Contact in Outlook will be deleted for all users but will remains in contact owner’s Outlook file.

Delete in Outlook
Contact in CRM will never be removed.

Read further on MSDN here.

Cheers – Sy

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s